For those of you unable to attend on Saturday night (or unable to remember…) I am delighted to announce the following awards were presented at the end of season dinner.

  1. Mens Goalkeeper of the year – Rob Darling, much to the amusement of most of the mens 2s in attendance judging by the Facebook comments!
  2. Mens Top Scorer – Miles Buller, a nice change from Paul Horsey who was ineligible this year having lost the previous trophy
  3. Mens Most Improved Player – Sam Jackson (who has your trophy as well Rob if he remembered to take it home)
  4. Mike Potts Award (Mens greatest contribution over many years) – Ian Phillips for his role as fixture secretary, 5th team stalwart and Wales international representation
  5. Maurice Crossfield Trophy (Mens long service award) – Dave Akroyd for playing, captaining and organising various tours, Mens Vets and Mixed OAPS Summer League teams
  6. Club Umpire of the Year – Rich Bingham for his willingness to umpire for any team whenever he can and for having a vague idea of interpreting the new rules introduced this season
  7. Eileen Clark Trophy (Ladies greatest contribution over many years) – Laura Summers for her role as Club Secretary, liaison with the YHA and other leagues, cake baking and 2nd team senior player!
  8. Oliver Buswell Trophy (Most Promising Junior player in the club) – Stella Jarquiss who has progressed from Ladies 4s to Ladies 2s over the season
  9. Pam Hardaker Trophy (Biggest contribution by a senior member to the junior section) – Paul Lewis who has helped coach, umpire and manage the junior teams throughout the season whilst still doing all he does for the senior section
  10. Ladies Most Improved Player – Flo Straughan who is one of our talented junior players who has been instrumental in the success of the Ladies 1s this season
  11. Ladies Goalkeeper of the year – Sarah McCall who based on statistics is the best keeper in the country in all hockey letting in the least goals per league game nationally
  12. Ladies 4s player of the year – Maddie Bickley
  13. Ladies 3s player of the year – Amy Fearn
  14. Ladies 2s player of the year – Laura Panteli (Twedds)
  15. Ladies 1s player of the year – Jac Smith
  16. Ladies 1s most improved player – Millie Jeavons
  17. Ladies 1s Thankyou award – Anna Blyth who is stepping down as skipper after 4 seasons to give her time to be subs secretary, 100 club organiser, ladies club captain and tea duty monitor (only kidding re the last one…)
  18. Ladies 1s top scorer – to follow post play offs
  19. Mens team of the year – Mens 5s
  20. Ladies team of the year – Ladies 3s
  21. Overall club team of the year – Ladies 1s.

Well done to everyone involved!

Categories: frontpage